Human rights campaigners in Belarus, Russia and Ukraine win Nobel Peace Prize


The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to jailed Belarus human rights activist Ales Bialiatski, the Russian campaign group Memorial and Ukraine’s Center for Civil Liberties.

The winners were announced in Oslo by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The award has previously recognised the work of groups and activists seeking to prevent conflict, tackle hardship and protect human rights.

Last year’s winners have faced a difficult time since receiving the prize.

Journalists Dmitry Muratov of Russia and Maria Ressa of the Philippines have been fighting for the survival of their news organisations and defying government efforts to silence them.

They were honoured last year for “their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.”

A week of Nobel Prize announcements kicked off on Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo receiving the award in medicine for unlocking secrets of Neanderthal DNA that provided key insights into the immune system.

More on Nobel Prize

Three scientists jointly won the prize in physics Tuesday.

Frenchman Alain Aspect, American John F Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger had shown that tiny particles can retain a connection with each other even when separated, a phenomenon known as quantum entanglement, that can be used for specialised computing and to encrypt information.

The Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded on Wednesday to Americans Carolyn R Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless, and Danish scientist Morten Meldal for developing a way of “snapping molecules together” that can be used to explore cells, map DNA and design drugs that can target diseases such as cancer more precisely.

French author Annie Ernaux won this year’s Nobel Prize in literature on Thursday.

The panel commended her for blending fiction and autobiography in books that draw on her experiences as a working-class woman to explore life in France since the 1940s.

The 2022 Nobel Prize in the economics will be announced on Monday.

The prizes carry a cash award of 10 million Swedish kronor (nearly $900,000) and will be handed out on 10 December.

The money comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, in 1895.

Articles You May Like

Why Silicon Valley is so hot on nuclear energy and what it means for the industry
The UK’s ‘golden era’ with China is over, Sunak warns
The first by-election since the pound crashed and Rishi Sunak became PM – what could result mean?
Tiger out of Hero World Challenge with foot injury
An ace to the NL East? Two star catchers on the move? Eight trades we want to see at the winter meetings